Dessert

Chocolate & Peanut Butter Fudge (with avocado & banana) + Food Update

A few weeks back my husband mentioned that his favorite type of fudge was chocolate & peanut butter.  Although not really a shocker, I didn’t know this delectable dessert qualified for “favorite” status.  Like I do with most foods that he/we find to be particularly yummy, I set about to make a healthy vegan version that we can close-to-guiltlessly pretty much take to the face.  Here’s what I came up with…

Chocolate & Peanut Butter Fudge (with avocado & banana)image

Ingredients

For the peanut butter layer:

  • 1 cup all-natural creamy peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup agave
  • 2 T coconut oil in solid form

For the chocolate layer:

  • 2 ripe avocados
  • 2 ripe bananas
  • 1/2 cup pure cocoa powder
  • 1/4 cup agave

Directions

1. Combine peanut butter layer ingredients in a large mixing bowl using a hand mixer or immersion blender.

2. Press the peanut butter mixture into the bottom of a 9×9 inch brownie pan.

3. Combine the chocolate layer ingredients in a large mixing bowl using an immersion blender or blend in food processor or blender.  Process until mixture is smooth and no clumps remain.

4. Spread chocolate mixture over the peanut butter layer.

5. Place pan in the freezer for one hour then enjoy!

Note – if left in the freezer too long, the fudge will… well… freeze.  So, if you’re not eating immediately after 1 hour of freezing, I suggest storing in the fridge.  Out of the fridge, the chocolate layer will have more of a mousse-y rather than fudgey texture but will still be delicious!  The fudge will keep stored in frig covered for several days.

I’ve been a bit MIA from the blog this month, so here’s some of the food highlights from May to catch you up…

1. I got a mandolin-type contraption and have been using it to make spiced & baked homemade potato chips with a tofu-based “ranch” dipping sauce.  Perfect pre-dinner app!

image

2. Been basically living off steel cut oats.  They take just a little longer to cook on the stove but the time is worth it!  Chewy goodness!  I bought several bags of frozen fruit from Costco and have been changing up the flavors with the fruit, and adding different nuts, spices, milks etc. Here’s a triple berry version:

image

3. Per R’s request (R=hubby), I’ve still been whipping up veggie burritos on the reg.  The last batch I made was a summerized version of my butternut squash burritos  – sans butternut squash, add yellow squash, mushrooms, red peppers, and zucchini.

image

4. Also still taking advantage of lazy weekend mornings to make my spelt waffles.  So tasty and even tastier when eaten in bed!

image

5. A friend sent me the link to these vegan, grain-free chickpea blondies.  Slightly embarrassed to say I made two pans in two days.  Hey, veggies in dessert = double portion time 🙂 Check out the recipe HERE.

image

6. You know I’m still juicing.  I actually did a 5-day juice cleanse which went great!! My go to for breakfast lately has been a carrot-apple-beet combo with lots of greens.  Gotta get the day started right!image

image

6. I went to my FAVORITE restaurant over the weekend: Luna’s Living Kitchen.  Not the absolute best bite of my life, BUT delicious, creative, healthy food.  Their motto is: The Art of Nourishment.  Well said.  If I had to pick one restaurant to eat at until the end of time, this is the one.  The Sprout it Out Salad – Yum!

image

And that sums up the highlights!  Hope you had a tasty & joyful May!!

2 thoughts on “Chocolate & Peanut Butter Fudge (with avocado & banana) + Food Update

Leave a Reply

