Entree

Dill recipe # 3: Buckwheat Soba Noodles with Dill-Pea Pesto, Broccoli & Cheeze

Good morning!  I hope everyone is having a nice weekend.  Mine has been good so far.  I went to an Atlanta Hawks game last night – they lost but it was still fun!  This morning, I got up earlier than I would’ve liked to – unfortunately Monty (our dog) stays on our 5 am wake up schedule even on the weekend so when I didn’t immediately get up to feed him at 5, he laid across my stomach for about 30 minutes trying to suffocate me wake me up and then he stood on the ground next to where I was sleeping and put his nose about 3 inches from my face and proceeded to breathe heavily and stomp his feet.  My resolve to not give in to his tantrum held strong for about 15 minutes before I completely crumbled and got up to feed him.  After eating, we had a play/snuggle session, and all was forgiven 🙂

On the plus side, I had time to make a batch of Carrot Oatmeal Raisin Biscuits (using carrot pulp leftover from juicing).  These are one of my VERY favorite things to make – quick, healthy and tasty!  I promise to post the recipe soon!  Before I get to the biscuit recipe though, we need to wrap up the Dill series.  In case you missed it – this is the 3rd post in the Dill series.  The last two recipes were for Coconut-Dill Potato Soup and Cream Cheeze & Dill Cucumber Bites.  This final recipe is nutrient-packed, filling, and delicious.  Hope you enjoy!

Buckwheat Soba Noodles with Dill-Pea Pesto, Broccoli & Cheeze

Soba Noodles with Pesto.

Soba Noodles with Pesto.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 of a 12.8 oz package of buckwheat soba noodles
  • 1 head broccoli

For the Pesto:

  • 1 cup peas (I used frozen and thawed)
  • 1 cup loosely packed spinach
  • 1/2 cup loosely packed fresh dill
  • 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil (use good quality that you know tastes good – I’ve used poor quality evoo and it made this dish close to inedible)
  • 1/2 t salt

For the Cheeze:

  • 1/2 14 oz package firm or extra firm tofu (I’ve used both)
  • 1 t lemon juice
  • 3/4 t salt
The finished product.  Yum!

The finished product. Yum!

  • 1/4 cup nutritional yeast
  • 1 T extra virgin olive oil

Directions

1. In a mixing bowl, use a potato masher to roughly smash the tofu and incorporate the juice, salt and nutritional yeast in the tofu.

2. Heat 1 T evoo in a pan over medium to medium-high heat and add tofu to pan.

3. Let one side of the tofu heat for several minutes until it is golden in color, then flip tofu and allow the other side to turn golden.

4. Spray a pan and lightly saute broccoli over medium heat for about 5 minutes.

5. Cook soba noodles according to package directions.

6. Beginning with the peas, spinach and dill, then adding in the salt and evoo, process pesto ingredients until it has a paste-like consistency and all ingredients are combined.

7. In a large bowl, combine pasta and pesto.  Fold in broccoli.  Top with cheeze.  Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Dill recipe # 3: Buckwheat Soba Noodles with Dill-Pea Pesto, Broccoli & Cheeze

  1. Love the color of pesto! Reminds me of spring 🙂 I just made asparagus pesto the other night, you can find the recipe on my blog. I will have to try this variation!

Leave a Reply

