Dessert

Flax Seed Lemon Squares

There are a few foods that I used to really love that I knew I would never ever have again once I went vegan.  This was a very sad truth that I forced myself to confront.  Now, it wasn’t that I threw my hands up in the air and cried out in anguished exasperation.  I’d say it was more along the lines of wallering in my bathrobe in self-pity.  A bit dramatic?  Well, I really really liked these foods…

One of these foods was bacon.  Well, lo and behold, I’ve begun using McCormick’s Bac’n Pieces in the occasional sweet and salty treat like these Chocolate Pumpkin Seed & ‘Bacon’ Clusters or in mashed potatoes etc.  Another food that I believed was lost forever to me was the lemon square.  Lemon squares are tangy and tart and sweet with a hint of salty.  The filling is gooey, the crust is crumbly.  Is it getting hot in here to anyone else?  Man, lemon squares are good.  A few days ago, I got my standard bag of lemons at the grocery store (I use lemons almost daily to cook with and to juice) and thoughts of the delicious lemon square came flooding back to me, leaving my mind in a state of sweet-gooey-crumbly-consciousness.  And I knew.  I HAD to make a healthy, vegan version of this delicious treat.

Normally my little food experiments take a few tries before I get it just right.  It’ll be edible but not share-worthy.  Miracle of miracles, I nailed these lemon squares on the first try.  They are unbelievably easy to make, unbelievably tasty, and unbelievably good for you!  The triple threat!

Flax Seed Lemon Squares

Ingredients:

For the filling:

  • 4 flax eggs (I used coursely ground flax seed – 4 T flax + 12 T water and let sit 10 min)
  • Juice 2 lemons
  • 1/4 cup spelt flour

    And then I stacked ’em up and ate ’em like pancakes. Kidding. I stacked them so you could see the gooey goodness. But I wanted to eat them like pancakes.

  • 2 T arrowroot powder
  • 1/2 cup agave

For the crust:

  • 1 cup walnuts
  • 1 cup pecans
  • 4 pitted dates soaked in warm water 10 min.
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 2 T canola oil

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350.

2. Spray a 9 inch square baking dish.

3. Finely process the nuts and dates.

4. Add the salt and canola oil and stir/mash with your hands until combined.

5. Press this mixture into the baking dish to form the crust.

6. Combine flour with arrowroot powder.

7. Add agave, lemon juice, and flax eggs and whisk to combine.

8. Pour the filling over the crust.

9. Bake 23 minutes until the top is firm.

10. Allow to cool completely and then cut into squares.

11. Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Flax Seed Lemon Squares

Leave a Reply

