Breakfast / Dessert / Juice / Sides

What to do with Leftover Pulp from Juicing Carrots and Beets? Make Sweet Carrot-Beet Treats or Carrot-Beet Couscous with Pumpkin Seeds

If you’re a regular juicer, you probably spend some time each day trying to figure out what to do with the leftover pulp.  I try to use as much of it as I can in food recipes so that I can take advantage of all the nutritional goodness in the produce I’m juicing.  I frequently use it in baked goods, oatmeal, or mixed in with grains.  I make a Carrot Apple Beet juice combo more frequently than any other juice so I have a lot of leftover beet and carrot pulp.  If you haven’t tried it before, see my post on CAB juice HERE – its really tasty and you can get creative with what you throw in there!  Pretty much any greens and herbs are good to go!

These two recipes are two of the most common that I make with leftover carrot and beet pulp.  Full disclosure on the sweet carrot-beet treats: my professional taste-tester aka my husband does not particularly care for them.  Normally, his thumbs down means the recipe doesn’t go up on the blog.  However, I’m making an exception for this one because I love them so much!  I think they taste like cake batter, or cookie dough, or red velvet cake, or sweet-peanut-butter-chocolatey-something… ok I don’t really know how to describe them but they’re good!  I think the hubby doesn’t like the texture because of the shredded pieces of carrots and beets.  Texture doesn’t normally bother me in foods, so it’s not a problem for me.  Anyways, you’ve been warned.  Also, they don’t look like balls of flesh per se, but they don’t not look like balls of flesh either.  Just throwin’ it all out there.  Looks and texture aside, I make these all the time and devour them!  I will frequently have one or two of these treats along with juice for breakfast, or I will have one after dinner to satisfy my sweet tooth.  I hope you like them as much as I do!

Sweet Carrot-Beet Treats

Sweet Carrot-Beet Treats

Sweet Carrot-Beet Treats

Ingredients

  • Pulp from 1 medium beet and 2 large carrots (about 2 cups)
  • 1/4 cup vegan dark chocolate chips
  • 1/4 cup agave
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 1/8 t salt

Directions

Combine all ingredients in a large mixing bowl.  Place parchment paper on a baking sheet or tray. Scoop 1-2 T of the dough into balls and place them on the paper.  Makes about 10 dough balls.  You can eat them immediately but I prefer them once they have sat in the frig for a few hours and the ingredients have had time to fully combine.  Keep stored in frig.

Carrot-Beet Couscous with Pumpkin Seeds

  • 1 cup uncooked couscous
  • Pulp 1 beet and 2 large carrots (about 2 cups)
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 1 T apple cider vinegar

    Carrot-Beet Couscous with Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

    Carrot-Beet Couscous with Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

  • 1 T agave
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin seeds

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350.

2. Place foil on a baking sheet and spray.

3. Pour pumpkin seeds on the foil and spray the tops of the seeds and sprinkle them with salt.

4. Roast for 8 minutes until they are just beginning to turn brown (watch them because they will turn quickly).

5. Cook couscous according to package directions.

6. Make dressing by combining salt, vinegar, oil, and agave in a small bowl.

7. In a large bowl, combine pulp with the dressing.

8. Fold in roasted pumpkin seeds.

9. You can eat this warm, but I prefer it once it has cooled from sitting in the frig a while.

2 thoughts on “What to do with Leftover Pulp from Juicing Carrots and Beets? Make Sweet Carrot-Beet Treats or Carrot-Beet Couscous with Pumpkin Seeds

  1. Both are terrific ideas for using up extra pulp. Peanut butter AND chocolate chips…and your hubby still doesn’t like them? Bah!

Leave a Reply

