Entree

Asian Inspired No-Chicken Noodle Soup

This might as well be called zombie soup.  I didn’t plan it.  I didn’t really know what I was doing as I was doing it.  Just pretty much blacked out and then dinner was ready.  And I was completely fine with that 🙂 Luckily, in my state of semi-consciousness, I managed to scribble down the ingredients.

It had been a cold and windy day, as I made my way down the dark alley… Just kidding.  But it really had been a cold and windy day.  So I knew I wanted something warming.  It was a Monday night and our weekends are normally pretty food filled and by that I mean we eat just about all weekend 🙂 so I was thinking something light and veggie-filled.  I still had the spicy vegetarian hot pot on my mind that we had gotten from a local restaurant in chinatown.  I looked around the kitchen and saw what ingredients we had on hand.  I looked at the sky and noted that the little dipper was out. And that a light on our porch was out.  And asian inspired no-chicken noodle soup was born.

Asian Inspired No-Chicken Noodle Soup

Ingredients

  • 6 cups no-chicken broth (I used organic, Imagine brand from Publix)
  • 3 T chili oil (I made my own from 3 T canola oil + 1/4 t crushed red pepper and let sit 30 min to infuse)
  • 1 large carrot thinly sliced into 1/8 inch rounds

    Asian inspired No-Chicken Noodle Soup with Sriracha Smiley Face - compliments of the Hubs.

    Asian inspired No-Chicken Noodle Soup with Sriracha Smiley Face – compliments of the Hubs.

  • 3/4 cup thinly sliced baby bella mushrooms
  • 3/4 cup thinly sliced brocolli
  • 1 net wt. 6 oz package of rice vermicelli noodles (about 3 cups dry)
  • Juice 1 lime
  • 2 cups packed kale
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 1/4 t crushed red pepper (in addition to the red pepper used to make chili oil)
  • 1/8 t ground red pepper
  • Sriracha to taste

Directions

1. Pour broth into large soup pot over medium heat and cover.

2. If making own chili oil, combine canola oil and 1/4 t crushed red pepper and set aside.

3. Add carrots, mushrooms, and broccoli to broth.  Bring soup to low boil and let sit 30 min uncovered.

4. Add chili oil, lime juice, salt, ground red pepper.

5. Put rice noodles in large bowl and let soak covered in cool water for 10 min.

6. Add kale to soup and turn heat down to low and let sit 5 min.

7. Drain rice noodles and then add them to the soup pot, cover with lid and let sit 10 min on low heat.

8. Ladle the soup into bowls and hit it with some sriracha, to taste.  Enjoy!

Happy Super Bowl Sunday!!

Leave a Reply

