For the Pup

4 Ingredient – 4 Minute (plus baking) Dog Treats

Dog tested - dog approved.

Dog tested – dog approved.

I love cooking my own dog treats.  Not only is it a money saver (woohoo!) but I like to know that Monty (my dog) is getting all good stuff in the things he eats.  On special occasions, or when I’m just really bored, I will make pretty treats – I’m going for shape, texture, color and I decorate them too – and man is my pup impressed with me! 🙂  These are NOT those treats…  Yes, these treats are wholesome eats, but I never said they were pretty!  The good news is, your pup could care less 🙂  You had him at “treat.”  These treats probably actually take less than 4 minutes to make, but 4 Ingredient – 3 Minute Dog Treats just didn’t seem logical.  So, you can whip these up super quick and your pup will thank you!  And because these treats are made with mint, you’ll be doing yourself a favor in the dog-breath-department, too!  P.S. I put half of this batch in a bag in the freezer to store and half in the frig.  The bag in the frig will keep for 1-2 weeks.  Makes 30 treats.

Wholesome Apple Mint Dog Treats

Ingredients

  • 2.5 cups whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh mint
  • 1 cup vegetable broth

     Into the bowl...

    Into the bowl…

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350.

2. Lightly spray a baking sheet.

3. In a large mixing bowl, combine all ingredients.

4. Spoon about 1 tablespoon-sized blobs of the dough onto baking sheet.

5. Bake for 15 minutes.

Unrelated cute pic :)

Unrelated cute pic 🙂

Et voila!

Et voila!

...onto the pan...

…onto the pan…

6 thoughts on “4 Ingredient – 4 Minute (plus baking) Dog Treats

    • Hmm that’s interesting about the yellow bile. I wonder what the biological cause was? No, I don’t feed Monty a vegan diet although I imagine he eats far more veggies than the average dog and I think its important that he eats veggies every day. I don’t feel that I know enough about canine nutrition to switch him entirely to a vegan diet. For his dry food, he eats Wolf King large breed by Solid Gold (bison based). Throughout the day, I give him veggie scraps from when I’m cooking (peelings and such), leftover veggie pulp from juicing that I’m not otherwise going to use, homemade vegan treats and his favorite – peanut butter – so he gets his veggie fill!

Leave a Reply

